NEW ALBUM, SUMMA out now ! Get it @ RareNoise Records


"Jü plays the music of ecstasy.

Psychedelic noise rock, power-jazz and folk all form an integral part of their compositions, evolving from seemingly rigorous, repetitive swirling patterns that deliver spectacular amounts of energy.
Apart from obvious reminiscences of the golden age of fusion (late 60s, early 70s), Jü's main objective is far from evoking that era.
By pushing their instruments to new limits, entranced audiences are transported from the continuous present into the future, ideally, leaving behind past ways of thinking about music itself.
Despite being seemingly restrained by their strict form of composition, disciplined by the common ground of tonality and dynamics, the creative members of the trio are allowed plenty of room for spirited improvisation." (translated from Hungarian)
Barotányi Zoltán / Magyar Narancs

Each member of Jü is an accomplished player on the Budapest scene. Beside dozens of Hungarian groups, the members have played with international musicians such as John Zorn, Eugene Chadbourne, Charles Gayle, Chris Potter, William Parker, Hamid Drake, Pamelia Kurstin and Mikolaj Trzaska. The band released their debut album in November 2014 at RareNoise Records, which they recorded with Norwegian saxophonist Kjetil Møster.

Jü is: Ádám Mészáros – guitar Ernő Hock – bass András Halmos – drums

Recent shows

    • 10.06.17
    • Kolorádó Fesztivál
    • Budapest, Hungary
    • See Event
    • 15.07.17
    • Bánkitó Fesztivál
    • Bánk, Hungary
    • See Event
    • 15.09.17
    • Szabadművelödés Háza
    • Székesfehérvár, Hungary
    • See Event
    • 16.09.17
    • Nagyeredei Viztorony
    • Debrecen, Hungary
    • See Event
    • 29.09.17
    • Tinta Art Cafe
    • Budapest, Hungary
    • See Event
    • 11.11.17
    • Lumen Cafe
    • Budapest, Hungary
    • See Event


SUMMA (2017)


“A meeting of the minds is good, but a meeting of some very wide open minds makes for way better results.” S. Victor Aaron / Somethingelsereviews

“An unrestricted record of distortion­dripping, guitar­fuelled material of forward­looking, hardcore rock­jazz” Doug Simpson / Audiophile Audition

“Together, they make for what is either the rockingest jazz album of the year or the jazziest rock album.” Anthony Dean-Harris / Nextbop

“Not since Bill Laswell’s colossal late 80s outfit Last Exit have the combustible possibilities between unfettered power rock and ecstatic free jazz been so voraciously explored and feverishly ejaculated.”
Kris Needs /

“An early contender for this year’s best­of list” Dave Foxall / Jazz Journal

“Crazy stuff that careens from Albert Ayler to King Crimson in vibe and scope, this is sure bet for left leaning heads that like wild rides.”
Chris Spector /

“One thing that is really clear from listening is that this is a true collaboration — each player has contributed to the whole, and while an individual melody or idea could be attributed to one person, no one has told the others what to play. Sometimes this takes the form of improvisation, but other times it’s more like composition by consensus. Jü Meets Møster is a recording that sounds better every time I listen to it, and certainly whets my interest in investigating other recordings by those involved.” Jon Davis / Exposé.org

“Az improvizáció mesterien szövi át a hatásos, mégsem tolakodva elővezetett témákat, amelyek a műfajon belül utolérhetetlen hangszeres játékkal párosulnak. És a magas rendű hangszeres játék ma már nem csak brillírozást jelent, hanem a jól megválasztott hangzást, hogy melyik apró gesztusnak hol a helye, vagy éppen a szofisztikált ritmika betartását. (…) nekem többször eszembe jutott a Medeski Martin & Wood groove alapokon nyugvó gondolkodása, ám Mészáros Ádám gitáron, Hock Ernő bőgőn és basszusgitáron, Halmos András dobon, illetve most Kjetil Møster tenor­ és baritonszaxofonon, valamint klarinéton ennél többet nyújt. A zenészek szimbiózisban dolgoznak, együtt lélegeznek, a játék hallhatóan tüzeli őket, a tűz pedig könnyen át fog ragadni a befogadóra.”
Végső Zoltán / Élet és Irodalom

“Jü und Kjetil Møster spielen dermaßen perfekt miteinander, als ob sie noch nie etwas anderes getan hätten (…) das entstandene Album ist ein absolutes Highlight für alle Liebhaber von Musik abseits ausgetretener Pfade. (…)Musiker und Musik auf allerhöchstem Niveau, die im Hause RareNoiseRecords bestens aufgehoben sind. Sehr empfehlenswert!”

“Half a dozen crushing jazz­rock jams that seem intent on sucking all the air out of the room. Careful with this one. It might put your back out.”
Daniel Spicer / Jazzwise

Neapolis Magzine

Rock-a-Rolla Magazine


Alchemy Magazine

The New York City Jazz Record